School of the Arts

Housed within the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, the School of the Arts was created from a reorganization of KU's arts programs in July 2009. The School of the Arts is home to four departments: Dance, Film & Media Studies, Theatre, and Visual Art. With over 650 students, more than 60 faculty, and 14 degree programs, the School of the Arts is the largest arts unit at the University. Through our students and faculty, we have the opportunity to inspire the imagination, increase participation in the arts, and make an impact on culture in Lawrence and beyond.