About the School of the Arts

A man holds a camera with two woman adjusting lighting in the background

The School of the Arts consists of three departments: Film & Media Studies, Visual Art, and Theatre & Dance. Each department has a unique body of faculty and students who come together to make engaging and meaningful work. As a student, you'll have the chance to find opportunities within your field of study that allow you to cultivate your voice and talent as a maker and creative. We have students who explore their craft to the fullest.

Why the Arts?

Studying the Arts at KU allow you seek out knowledge across a wide variety of areas of interests. While furthering your path in your creative field you have the freedom and flexibility to cultivate other skills in areas like technology, social innovation, and business. These opportunities will broaden your talent.